ASFC Student Awards 2016

19 December 2016

Anton McGrath welcomed students, past and present, as well as families and staff to Hyde Town Hall for an incredible evening of celebration. The ASFC Student Awards 2016 recognises students who have shown outstanding achievement and commitment to Ashton Sixth Form College. Music and entertainment was provided by ASFC Performing Arts college bands. 

The ASFC Student Awards 2016 also invited Angela Rayner MP and Shadow Secretary of State for Education, alongside Stephen Pleasant, ASFC Governor, as guest speakers to present the awards to our students and Alumni.

We awarded over 110 Subject Awards ensuring that every student in each subject was celebrated for their incredible achievements during their time at Ashton Sixth Form College.

In addition, we awarded a range of Special Awards for Departmental Achievement and extra-curricular contribution for Student Ambassadors and Sport:

  • Inclusive Learning Prize - Rebecca Connor
  • Chris Woodhead Prize for Business - Ben O'Brien
  • Clayton History Prize - Chloe Turner
  • Fraser Prize for Modern Languages - Ellis Hesketh
  • Leo Blockley Prize for Mathematics - Daniel Laycock
  • Stephen Young Politics Prize - Benjam Hadden
  • James Haggarty Vocational Media Production Award - Daniel Valentine
  • David Cullen Creative Arts Award - Thomas Shepley, Harry Valentine, Karol Wijacinski
  • Joan Monks Ambassador of the Year - Charlotte Brocklehurst
  • Outstanding Performer of the Year - Oliver Topping

Value Added Awards

  • Level 2 - Lucy Parkinson
  • A-Level - Andrew Crompton
  • Vocational A2 - Paul Sudworth
  • Mixed Programme - Giyasul Islam

The following Principal Awards were also given:

Academic Progress - Ellis Hesketh

Vocational Progress - Richard Baxendale

Contribution to College Life - Charlotte Brocklehurst


The awards were hosted by Rober Murray and Louise Perkin.

A massive congratulations to all of our incredible students.


Tags: awards